New Music Excess

Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More

Posted in Indie Folk by newmusicexcess on December 15, 2009

Track listing:

1. Sigh No More
2. The Cave
3. Winter Winds
4. Roll Away Your Stone
5. White Blank Page
6. I Gave You All
7. Little Lion Man
8. Timshel
9. Thistle & Weeds
10. Awake My Soul
11. Dust Bowl Dance
12. After The Storm

Mumford & Sons‘ debut, Sigh No More, is definitely folk without the ‘hey nonny noo’ or day trips to Bangor. No Mulligan and O’Hare here, with Marcus Mumford’s voice as the central consistent point the album is able to sway from celtic to busker to gospel to bluegrass and various points in-between without sounding like you had just picked up a folk compilation by mistake. Looks like crossover folk is here to stay, and hurray for that.

Reviewed at: –


New Musical Express –

The Guardian –

Drowned In Sound –