New Music Excess

Fever Ray – Fever Ray

Posted in Electronic, Electropop, Synthpop by newmusicexcess on January 22, 2010

Fever Ray - Fever Ray Track listing:

1. If I Had a Heart
2. When I Grow Up
3. Dry and Dusty
4. Seven
5. Triangle Walks
6. Concrete Walls
7. Now’s the Only Time I Know
8. I’m Not Done
9. Keep the Streets Empty for Me
10. Coconut

The creepy electronic tones on Karin Elisabeth Dreijer Andersson’s debut, Fever Ray, makes me think of a Doom Metal band that’s gone synthpop. I hear all sorts of musical reference points in both the vocals and the music as I listen to this album. A smattering of Propaganda here, a bit of Depeche Mode there, some Björk, a pinch of Katatonia, and some Kate Bush to name a few. It also takes me back to an alternative universe ‘80s era of ZTT Records, you know, around the time of Art Of Noise et al. But, in slow motion. Excellent stuff.

Reviewed at:

The Guardian –

The Onion (A.V. Club) –,25935/

Delusions of Adequacy –

Pop Matters –

Pitchfork –

Drowned In Sound –

New Musical Express –

musicOHM –

Tiny Mix Tapes –

Slant Magazine –

All Music Guide –

Dot Music –

Prefix Magazine –

Cokemachineglow –

Dusted Magazine –

Boston Globe –

Blender –

Spin –

Bookmark and Share

Artists To Watch 2010: Ellie Goulding

Posted in Electropop, Folktronica, Indie Pop, Synthpop by newmusicexcess on January 11, 2010



  • Singer-Songwriter, born in December 1986, Hereford, England.
  • Writing songs since she was 14.
  • Genre(s): Folktronica, Indie pop, Electropop, Synthpop.
  • First live show: University talent show.
  • Next gig: UK tour starts 25th March 2010 @ Thekla, Bristol.



  • “Wish I Stayed” demo, downloadable from website.
  • “Under The Sheets” single 15 November 2009Ellie Goulding - Under The Sheets
    1. Under The Sheets
    2. Fighter Plane
    3. Under The Sheets – Jakwob remix




Upcoming Releases

  • The first single, “Starry Eyed”, from the debut album, Lights, is due for release on 22nd February 2010.
  • The debut album, Lights, is due for release on 1st March 2010.




Bookmark and Share

Neon Indian – Psychic Chasms

Posted in Chillwave, Electronic, Electropop, Indie, Indie Pop, Neo-psychadelia by newmusicexcess on January 6, 2010

Neon_Indian_-_Psychic_Chasms Track listing:

1. (AM)
2. Deadbeat Summer
3. Laughing Gas
4. Terminally Chill
5. (If I Knew, I’d Tell You)
6. 6669 (I Don’t Know If You Know)
7. Should Have Taken Acid with You
8. Mind, Drips
9. Psychic Chasms
10. Local Joke
11. Ephemeral Artery
12. 7000 (Reprise)

Neon Indian’s Psychic Chasms manages to still sound distinct while drawing from a wide variety of sounds. I hear a whole number of similarities to other things vying in the tracks, like  M83, MGMT, Maps, Daft Punk, 80’s Synthpop, 70’s glam, 8-bit Nintendo sounds, and disco all wrapped up in a trippy psychedelic haze. To sound both retro and futuristic at the same is a pretty amazing achievement. Say, are you boys on drugs?

Reviewed at:

Allmusic –

Drowned In Sound –

Pitchfork –

Spin –

The Onion –,36707/

Prefix Magazine –

PopMatters –

cokemachineglow –

Bookmark and Share