New Music Excess

VNV Nation – The Great Divide EP

Posted in EBM, Futurepop, Synthpop by newmusicexcess on January 31, 2010

It looks like the release date for VNV Nation’s latest release, The Great Divide EP, is now just over a month away. Currently, the release date appears to be around early March (it had previously been set for February 12, 2010). The lead track, The Great Divide, originally appears on the last album, Of Faith, Power And Glory.

VNV Nation - Of Faith Power And Glory

The EP will also include alternate versions and remixes by several other artists, of songs from the last album, as well as unreleased tracks. Michal Karcz has produced the artwork for the EP.

There is also  a promo video for the lead track, The Great Divide, that has  been put together by Crazy Clip TV, featuring footage filmed during the recent European Tour.

Keep your eyes out for other, extended and enhanced, re-releases including various extras and a new album in the pipeline for possible release in 2010.

Check out this real clear fan live footage of The Great Divide from Philadelphia 19/07/09.

VNV Nation Official Homepage –

Bookmark and Share

Assemblage 23 – Compass

Posted in EBM, Futurepop, Synthpop by newmusicexcess on January 27, 2010

Assemblage 23 - Compass Track listing:

1. Smoke
2. Collapse
3. Impermanence
4. How Can You Sleep
5. Spark
6. Leave This All Behind
7. Alive
8. Greed
9. Angels & Demons
10. The Cruelest Year




Limited Edition – Bonus CD Tracks:

1. Spark [Burikusu RMX]
2. Grind
3. Alone Again
4. Chosen
5. Greed [KMFDM RMX]

This album was released around October 2009, but my mind was on other things as I was in the thick of immigration stuff and I have only just become aware of it, this morning, while I was trawling through Spotify to see what ‘Futurepop’ albums I had missed towards the end of 2009.

I must confess to preferring Tom Shear’s darker sounding releases, however, over several listens to the album is most definitely growing on me. I definitely hear a heavy ‘old school’ Depeche Mode influence on several tracks off this album, a band who Tom Shear readily admits to be being influenced by. I suspect there are also a number of Depeche Mode fans out there who wish they were still making albums that sound like this. Actually, the synthesizer sounds on this album are very strong indeed  (I could see a number of Tanz-Metal bands getting rather envious of the ‘patches’) while Shear’s rich vocal lines rest perfectly in the mix. 

Reviewed at:

Softsynth –

Reflections Of Darkness –

Release Magazine –

Regenmag –

Musicnonstop –

Bookmark and Share