New Music Excess

Assemblage 23 – Compass

Posted in EBM, Futurepop, Synthpop by newmusicexcess on January 27, 2010

Assemblage 23 - Compass Track listing:

1. Smoke
2. Collapse
3. Impermanence
4. How Can You Sleep
5. Spark
6. Leave This All Behind
7. Alive
8. Greed
9. Angels & Demons
10. The Cruelest Year




Limited Edition – Bonus CD Tracks:

1. Spark [Burikusu RMX]
2. Grind
3. Alone Again
4. Chosen
5. Greed [KMFDM RMX]

This album was released around October 2009, but my mind was on other things as I was in the thick of immigration stuff and I have only just become aware of it, this morning, while I was trawling through Spotify to see what ‘Futurepop’ albums I had missed towards the end of 2009.

I must confess to preferring Tom Shear’s darker sounding releases, however, over several listens to the album is most definitely growing on me. I definitely hear a heavy ‘old school’ Depeche Mode influence on several tracks off this album, a band who Tom Shear readily admits to be being influenced by. I suspect there are also a number of Depeche Mode fans out there who wish they were still making albums that sound like this. Actually, the synthesizer sounds on this album are very strong indeed  (I could see a number of Tanz-Metal bands getting rather envious of the ‘patches’) while Shear’s rich vocal lines rest perfectly in the mix. 

Reviewed at:

Softsynth –

Reflections Of Darkness –

Release Magazine –

Regenmag –

Musicnonstop –

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: