New Music Excess

Mute Math – Armistice

Posted in Alternative Rock by newmusicexcess on January 1, 2010

Track listing:

1. The Nerve
2. Backfire
3. Clipping
4. Spotlight
5. No Response
6. Pins and Needles
7. Goodbye
8. Odds
9. Electrify
10. Armistice
11. Lost Year
12. Burden

Mute Math’s second full-length album, Armistice, sees them restrain the wide-ranging genre influences and aim towards a slightly more mainstream alternative rock sound. However, I think, that is a change that most bands have to go through if they want to succeed to any great degree. That said the album is still a heady concoction of electronic breakbeats, processed spiralling riffs, haunting piano, sci-fi strings and a kaleidoscope of other musical noises.

Reviewed at:

PopMatters –

All Music Guide –

Paste Magazine –

Sputnik Music –

Hard Music –

Bookmark and Share


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: